Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School

Musical & Dramatic Activities

old school

Glamorgan Youth Choir and Orchestra
St Elvan’s Church, Aberdare
September 3rd, 1963

(photo contributed by Susan Dennis, additional notes by John Samuel)

This picture shows the Glamorgan Youth Choir and Orchestra on the day of their concert at St Elvan’s Church in Aberdare. The programme for this concert is on the site. It shows that the main works performed by the choir were as follows:

Vaughan Williams’ Toward the Unknown Region
and Handel’s Dettingen Te Deum

There were several Aberdarians in the choir:

Susan Dennis, Pamela Field, Rhian Samuel
Annette Merriman, Pamela Mann
Hywel Davies, Peter Ballinger
David Martin Burridge, Roger Humphreys and John Samuel
Gethin Evans (ABGS music master) is in the central area together with Russell Sheppard (conductor)

(please let us know if we have missed anybody or incorrectly identified someone)
Hover your mouse pointer over the faces in the picture. If you get to one of the Aberdarians
their names should appear.

Russell Sheppard (1914-1999) was from Mountain Ash where his father worked as a miner, principally at the Deep Duffryn colliery. Initially he studied piano but later organ at St Elvan’s, Aberdare, although the family were regular attenders at St. Margaret’s, Mountain Ash. At the age of sixteen he was appointed choirmaster and organist at St. Illtyd’s Church, Cefnpennar and it was here that he first experienced the responsibilities of organising, accompanying and conducting at the church services. He was later to fulfil a similar role at St. Donat’s, Abercynon. Sheppard attended Mountain Ash County School, entered U.C. Cardiff (1932-35) as a Glamorgan County Council Music Scholar, followed by a one-year teacher training course. His first, and only, teaching post (1936) was as music master at Holyhead County School, before returning to South Wales in 1949 as Music Organiser and Inspector for Glamorgan. In 1940, during his Anglesey days, he married Catherine (‘Karen’) E. Williams from Holyhead, and it was there that his two daughters, Wendy and Pat were born. Following Sheppard’s death in 1999, John Jenkins, his son-in-law, published a book of a biographical nature dedicated to his father-in-law entitled Toward the Unknown Region, (ISBN: 1902709047). It contains a full account of Sheppard’s career - also included is a cutting from the Aberdare Leader which was a report of the September, 1963 St. Elvan’s concert by its correspondent, E. Morley Smith (sub-postmaster at Foundry Town P.O., Ynyslwyd St).
Vaughan Williams had himself conducted Toward the Unknown Region in a concert given by the Cwmaman Choral Society at the Cwmaman Institute on Boxing Day, 1932, when a 17-year-old Russell Sheppard was present in the audience.

Gethin Evans Susan Dennis Peter Ballinger David Martin Burridge Roger Humphreys Pamela Field Annette Merriman Pamela Mann Hywel Davies John Samuel Rhian Samuel Russell Sheppard Glam Choir at St Elvans, Aberdare

List of participating musicians

Soprano, Second Soprano and Alto :

Susan Dennis, Pamela Mann, Annette Merriman, Rhian Samuel

Mountain Ash:
Angela Williams, Glynis Blacker

Kenfig Hill:
Lesley Henson, Pam Jones

Delyth Thomas

Merian Williams, Hilary Polmeer, Margaret Robbins, Margaret Hopkins

Ogmore Valley:
Elizabeth Ingle, Delyth Morris, Heather Tuck

Caryl Saunders, Carolyn Rees

Delia Jones, Judith Dargavel, Georgina Griffiths, Gaynor Jenkins, Kay Morgan, Mair Hopkins

Kathryn Gould, Carole Badman

Beverley Humphreys, Margaret Meredith, Joan Collier, Phyllis Evans, Delyth Jones, Mary Morgan, Andrea Luscombe

Port Talbot:
Lynda Walters, Rhian Jones, Penelope Abbott, Christine Jones

Jennifer Clarke, Lynne Peter, Mary Alien, Christine Baynham

Janice Newton, Gwendoline John, June Hughes

Susan Thomas

Christine Davies, Anne Morgan

Lynette Howells, Olwen Howells, Marian Edwards, Ann Edwards, Margaret Rees

Jane Evans, Marcia Perry

Jennifer Jones

Tenor and Bass :

Allen Richards, Roger Humphreys, David Burridge, Hywel Davies, Peter Ballinger, John Samuel

Mountain Ash:
Gareth Burridge, Paul Nicholas

David Waters, Elgar Lewis, Graham Marshman

Kenneth Green

Adrian Perrett

John Jones, David Sweet

Kenfig Hill:
David Lean, Martyn Patterson

Richard Vaughan, Richard Watkins, Neil Fricker

Ogmore Valley:
Kendail Davies

Eurof Parry

Colin Baldwin, Andrew Payne

David Llewelyn, Alan Badman

Geraint Davies, David Murfin, David Richards, Wynne Edwards, Dewi Jones, Sidney Head, Derrick John, Lynn Williams,
Dennis O’Neill

Brian Llewelyn, Alun Hughes, Morlais Gwyther

Howard Patch, Norman Pereira

Port Talbot:
Alan Griffiths

Philip Young, Eurof Humphreys

Wynfor Davies, Robert Turner

Clive Mars

Stuart Kale

Arwel Phillips, Geraint Thomas.

First Violin : Wendy Sheppard, Emyr Walters, Jeffrey Rees, Catherine Hughes-Jones, Peter Chislett, Jeffrey George, J. Francis, J. Lloyd.
Second Violin : Oliver Brown, Patricia Sheppard, David Lloyd, Keri Thomas, Michael Laugharne, Nigel Beresford, Michael Jenkins.
Viola : Ian Evett, Hugh Gronow, Gwenllian Richards.
‘Cello : Elizabeth Davies, Kathryn Evans, Wayne Warlow.
Double Bass : A. James.
Flute : John Weeks, Paul Broom, T. Rees.
Oboe : Leigh Thomas, Alan Good.
Clarinet : Kenneth Manning.
Bassoon : Alan Davies.
French Horn : Geraint Lewis, A. Hughes.
Trumpet : John Jenkins, David Small.
Trombone : Trevor Herbert, Nigel Kift.
Tympani : P. Rees.