Aberdare Boys’ Grammar School

School Photographs

Old School

Aberdare Boys County School, Form 1A, 1922

photograph from Delyth Wilson, (née Pardoe), whose father Ronald is on the teacher’s immediate left

Form 1A 1922

The form master is Ronald Victor Hoggins, teacher of Commercial Subjects, who was appointed to the school in September 1920.

We think the following 31 boys were members of 1A in 1922, only 29 of which are in the photograph:

William Michael Lyndhurst Bolitho, George Lambden Collins, David Aeron Davies,
David Stanley Davies, Elwyn Thomas Evans, Martin Henry Hill,
Thomas Ricahrd James, David Thomas Jenkins, James Mansel John,
Alun Hughes Jones, David William Jones, John David Jones,
Tegwyn Oliver Lewis, Norman Glendower Lloyd, Philip White Martin,
Emlyn Morgan, Vere Rogers Nicholas, Ronald Pardoe,
Benjamin Price, Morgan Price, John Richards,
Ivor Roden Sanders, Robert Haydn Slye, Robert Clifford Sumner,
Maldwyn George Thomas, John David Timothy, Glyndwr Scourfield Voyle,
Morgan John Williams, Brinley Wyatt, Philip Neil Wyke,
Augustus Shaw York.

We leave it to you to spot a musical pupil from Cwmbach who later became Head of Maths at the school.